Metropolitan Transportation Authority

Headquarters: 2 Broadway
New York, NY 10004
Employees: 74,000
CEO: Janno Lieber

Career Page

The Metropolitan Transportation Authority is North America's largest transportation network, serving a population of 15.3 million people in the 5,000-square-mile area fanning out from New York City through Long Island, southeastern New York State, and Connecticut.

The MTA comprises six agencies: MTA New York City Transit, MTA Bus Company, MTA Long Island Rail Road, MTA Metro-North Railroad, MTA Bridges and Tunnels, and MTA Construction & Development. The administrative arm is MTA Headquarters, located at 2 Broadway in Manhattan.

The MTA network has the nation’s largest bus fleet and more subway and commuter rail cars than all other U.S. transit systems combined. It provides around 2.6 billion trips each year, accounting for about one-third of the nation’s mass transit users and two-thirds of its commuter rail passengers. MTA Bridges and Tunnels, which recorded a record 329 million crossings in 2019, carries more vehicles than any other bridge and tunnel authority in the nation.

The MTA is a public-benefit corporation chartered by the New York State Legislature in 1965. The MTA is governed by a 21-member Board. Members are nominated by the Governor, with four recommended by New York City's mayor and one each by the county executives of Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester, Dutchess, Orange, Rockland, and Putnam counties (the members representing the latter four cast one collective vote). The Board also has six rotating non-voting seats held by representatives of organized labor and the Permanent Citizens Advisory Committee (PCAC), which serves as a voice for users of MTA transit and commuter facilities.

NY's transportation system includes: 

  • More than 6,600 subway cars, which collectively traveled about 365 million miles in 2019
  • 472 subway stations
  • 665 miles of track
  • 5,927 vehicles in our bus fleet, all 100% accessible to riders with disabilities
  • 234 local bus routes, 20 Select Bus Service routes, and 73 express routes in the five boroughs


The NY City Subway first opened in 1904. Bus service on the streets of Manhattan began in 1905. Today, NYC Transit's buses run in all five boroughs, on more than 200 local and 30 express routes. They account for 80 percent of the city's surface mass transportation.

The Long Island Rail Road is both the largest commuter railroad and the oldest railroad in America operating under its original name. Chartered in 1834, it extends from three major New York City terminals -- Penn Station, Flatbush Avenue, and Hunterspoint Avenue -- through a major transfer hub at Jamaica to the easternmost tip of Long Island.

Long Island Bus -- formed in 1973 by the combination of 10 private bus companies into a unified transportation system -- operates throughout Nassau County and in western Suffolk and eastern Queens. Its lines link 96 communities, 47 Long Island Rail Road stations, five New York City Transit subway stations, numerous industrial parks, colleges, hospitals, corporate headquarters, and major shopping malls.

Created in 1933 by builder Robert Moses, MTA Bridges and Tunnels serves more than a million vehicles each weekday -- more than 300 million vehicles each year -- and carries more traffic than any other bridge and tunnel authority in the nation. Surplus revenues from the authority's tolls help support MTA transit services.

MTA Bridges and Tunnels bridges are the Triborough, Throgs Neck, Verrazano-Narrows, Bronx-Whitestone, Henry Hudson, Marine Parkway-Gil Hodges Memorial, and Cross Bay Veterans Memorial; its tunnels are the Brooklyn-Battery and Queens Midtown.

All are within New York City, and all accept payment by E-ZPass, an electronic toll collection system that is moving traffic through MTA Bridges and Tunnels toll plazas faster and more efficiently. Seventy-two percent of the vehicles that use MTA Bridges and Tunnels crossings on weekdays now use E-ZPass.

MTA Bridges and Tunnels is a cofounder of the E-ZPass Interagency Group, which is implementing seamless toll collection in 12 states, including New York, New Jersey, Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia, wiithout having to reach for cash or tokens; tolls are charged electronically to a single E-ZPass account.

In October 2012, Superstorm Sandy hit NYC and inflicted heavy damage on MTA subway and train lines.

Career Information

Most jobs are filled by an examination process. Applicants must apply, take, and pass an examination.